All But Four Democratic Senators Support Gay Marriage Rights

The Final Four is about to begin play, but The Week reports on another final four. We are down to just four Democratic Senators who oppose marriage equality: Joe Manchin of West Virginia, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana, Mark Pryor of Arkansas, and Tim Johnson of South Dakota. Geography clearly plays a huge role here.

Despite the views of these four, there are now 53 Senators supporting marriage equality (including two Republicans, Rob Portman of Ohio and Mark Kirk of Illinois).  This represents a marked change as Senators bravely follow along with the changing views of the nation.

As for the other Final Four: Go Blue!