76 American Nobel Laureates in Science Endorse Obama

Seventy-six American Nobel Laureates in Science have endorsed Barack Obama for president. Their letter cites the hostility towards science under George Bush. Examples of how John McCain and Sarah Palin are continuing the Republican war on science were discussed two days ago. Their letter of endorsement follows:

An Open Letter to the American People

This year’s presidential election is among the most significant in our nation’s history. The country urgently needs a visionary leader who can ensure the future of our traditional strengths in science and technology and who can harness those strengths to address many of our greatest problems: energy, disease, climate change, security, and economic competitiveness.

We are convinced that Senator Barack Obama is such a leader, and we urge you to join us in supporting him.

During the administration of George W. Bush, vital parts of our country’s scientific enterprise have been damaged by stagnant or declining federal support. The government’s scientific advisory process has been distorted by political considerations. As a result, our once dominant position in the scientific world has been shaken and our prosperity has been placed at risk. We have lost time critical for the development of new ways to provide energy, treat disease, reverse climate change, strengthen our security, and improve our economy.

We have watched Senator Obama’s approach to these issues with admiration. We especially applaud his emphasis during the campaign on the power of science and technology to enhance our nation’s competitiveness. In particular, we support the measures he plans to take – through new initiatives in education and training, expanded research funding, an unbiased process for obtaining scientific advice, and an appropriate balance of basic and applied research – to meet the nation’s and the world’s most urgent needs.

Senator Obama understands that Presidential leadership and federal investments in science and technology are crucial elements in successful governance of the world’s leading country. We hope you will join us as we work together to ensure his election in November.


Alexei Abrikosov Physics 2003 Leland H. Hartwell Medicine 2001 Peter Agre Chemistry 2003 Herbert Hauptman Chemistry 1985 Sidney Altman Chemistry 1989 Dudley Herschbach Chemistry 1986 Philip W. Anderson Physics 1977 Roald Hoffmann Chemistry 1981 Richard Axel Medicine 2004 H. Robert Horvitz Medicine 2002 David Baltimore Medicine 1975 Louis Ignarro Medicine 1998 Baruj Benacerraf Medicine 1980 Eric R. Kandel Medicine 2000 Paul Berg Chemistry 1980 Har Gobind Khorana Medicine 1968 Günter Blobel Medicine 1999 Walter Kohn Chemistry 1998 J. Michael Bishop Medicine 1989 Roger Kornberg Chemistry 2006 N. Bloembergen Physics 1981 Leon M. Lederman Physics 1988 Michael S. Brown Medicine 1985 Anthony Leggett Physics 2003 Linda B. Buck Medicine 2004 Roderick MacKinnon Chemistry 2003 Mario R. Capecchi Medicine 2007 Craig C. Mello Medicine 2006 Martin Chalfie Chemistry 2008 Kary Mullis Chemistry 1993 Stanley Cohen Medicine 1986 Yoichiro Nambu Physics 2008 Leon Cooper Physics 1972 Marshall Nirenberg Medicine 1968 James W. Cronin Physics 1980 Douglas D. Osheroff Physics 1996 Robert F. Curl Chemistry 1996 Martin Perl Physics 1995 Johann Diesenhofer Chemistry 1988 Stanley B. Prusiner Medicine 1997 John B. Fenn Chemistry 2002 Norman F. Ramsey Physics 1989 Edmond H. Fischer Medicine 1992 Robert Richardson Physics 1996 Val Fitch Physics 1980 Burton Richter Physics 1976 Jerome I. Friedman Physics 1990 Irwin Rose Medicine 1968 Murray Gell-Mann Physics 1969 Sherwood Rowland Chemistry 1995 Riccardo Giacconi Physics 2002 Richard R Schrock Chemistry 2005 Ivar Giaever Physics 1973 Oliver Smithies Medicine 2007 Walter Gilbert Chemistry 1980 George Smoot Physics 2006 Alfred G. Gilman Medicine 1994 Joseph H. Taylor Jr. Physics 1993 Donald A. Glaser Physics 1960 E. Donnall Thomas Medicine 1990 Sheldon L. Glashow Physics 1979 Charles H. Townes Physics 1964 Roy Glauber Physics 2005 Roger Tsien Chemistry 2008 Joseph Goldstein Medicine 1985 Daniel C.Tsui Physics 1998 Paul Greengard Medicine 2000 Harold Varmus Medicine 1989 David Gross Physics 2004 James D. Watson Medicine 1962 Robert H. Grubbs Chemistry 2005 Eric Wieschaus Medicine 1995 Roger Guillemin Medicine 1977 Frank Wilczek Physics 2004 John L. Hall Physics 2005 Robert W. Wilson Physics 1978

No Comments

2 Trackbacks

Leave a comment